Additional County Entities

Foster County Weed Board

The Foster County Weed Board was formed to help combat Noxious Weeds throughout Foster County. The board is in charge of applications on all State and County highways along with county FAS roads. They also work with all 18 townships in finding applicators and furnishing chemical to townships. The board also has a Landowner-Assistance-Program (LAP) where we cost share chemical to individual landowners at an 80% county, 20% landowner split. Any questions can be directed to the Weed Officer or to any board member.

  • George Topp, Chairman
  • Jeff Bata, Vice-Chairman
  • Ethan Stangland, Member
  • Kyle Rzaszutak, Member
  • Joel Lemer, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Nate Monson, Weed Officer

Physical Address: 1099 5th St N, Carrington, ND 58421 (County Shop)
Mailing Address: PO Box 80, Carrington, ND 58421
Phone: (701) 652-5638 (Nate Monson, Weed Officer)
Fax: (701) 652-3668



Foster County Planning and Zoning

The Planning and Zoning committee ensure the sustainability of Foster County through long and short term planning. This board is responsible for preparation, coordination and implementation of Foster County's development regulations. They facilitate the development and ensure that such development follows the rules set down by the county commissioners. Any questions can be directed toward the Administrator, Karen Evens.

  • Karen Evans, Administrator
  • Tom Erdmann, City of Carrington
  • Jason Wolsky, Public Works
  • Cash Biel, District 1
  • Piet van Bedaf, District 2
  • Justin Topp, District 2
  • David Utke, District 3
  • Jon Johnson, District 3
  • Jason Jarrett, District 4
  • Cameron Roundy, District 5

Foster County Building Permit

Foster County Planning and Zoning Regulations

Fee Schedule 

Physical Address: 1000 5th St N, Carrington, ND 58421 (Foster County Courthouse)
Mailing Address: PO Box 257, Carrington, ND 58421
Phone: (701) 652-3060
Fax: (701) 652-2173



Foster County Water Board

The Foster County Water Board manages the surface water within a district's political boundaries and watersheds. Specifically, a water resource district's board should support the state water management policy that upstream districts and landowners who have altered the natural flow of water must share the responsibility of proper water management with downstream landowners.

  • Brent Bachmeier, Chairman
  • Jeff Bata, Vice-Chairman
  • Ronn Stangeland
  • Doug Zink
  • Brent Bachmeier
  • Alex Stedman 
  • Danielle Koepplin, Secretary/Treasurer




Foster County Historical Society

Check out the past: photographs, display cases, agriculture equipment and historical records. A one-room school is located next to the museum and is available for tours by appointment only.

Physical Address: Second Street and 16th Ave S, Carrington ND 58421
Contact: Kathy Paulson
Phone: (701) 652-2587

The Putnam house also features arts, humanities, history and people

Physical Address: 533 Main St, Carrington, ND 58421

Additional Contacts

  • Jamie (701) 653-5464
  • Kim (701) 660-0271
  • Janice (701) 650-1850



Copyright © 2017 - 2024 Foster County and it's licensors.